Oscar Nominees Are Announced

Birdman and The Grand Budapest Hotel Earn Nine Oscar Nominations.

The Academy of Motion Picture Art and Sciences announced the nominees for the 87th Academy Awards.

Eight films will compete for Best Picture: The Grand Budapest Hotel directed by Wes Anderson, Selma directed by Christian Colson, The Theory of Everything directed by James Marsh, Whiplash directed by Damien Chazelle, Boyhood directed by Richard Linklater, The Imitation Game directed by Morten Tyldum, Birdman directed by Alejandro González Iñárritu, and American Sniper directed by Clint Eastwood.

{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/oskar_01.jpg”, “text”: “American Sniper, directed by Clint Eastwood” },
{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/oskar_02.jpg”, “text”: “Birdman, directed by Alejandro González Iñárritu” },
{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/oskar_03.jpg”, “text”: “Boyhood, directed by Richard Linklater” },
{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/oskar_04.jpg”, “text”: “The Grand Budapest Hotel, directed by Wes Anderson” },
{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/oskar_05.jpg”, “text”: “The Imitation Game, directed by Morten Tyldum” },
{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/oskar_06.jpg”, “text”: “Selma, directed by Christian Colson” },
{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/oskar_07.jpg”, “text”: “The Theory of Everything, directed by James Marsh” },
{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/oskar_08.jpg”, “text”: “Whiplash, directed by Damien Chazelle” }

In the category Best Actor the jury nominated Steve Carell for Foxcatcher, Bradley Cooper for American Sniper, Benedict Cumberbatch for The Imitation Game, Michael Keaton for Birdman, and Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything.

Best Actress nominees are: Felicity Jones for The Theory of Everything, Julianne Moore for Still Alice, Reese Witherspoon for Wild, Rosamund Pike for Gone Girl and Marion Cotillard for Two Days, One Night.

The nominees were announced in 24 categories. The 87th Academy Awards of 2014 will be presented on February 22nd. This year, Neil Patrick Harris of How I met Your Mother, will host the ceremony.

New and best



Read more