London Design Museum of Designs of the Year Awards

Winners in six categories have been announced. The Design of the Year winner will be announced in June

The London Design Museum announced the winners of their annual Design of the Year Award in six categories: Architecture, Digital, Fashion, Graphics, Product, Transport, writes It’s Nice That.

Members of the jury, namely Hilary Alexander, freelance stylist and writer; Alexis Georgacopoulos, Director of University of Art and Design Lausanne; Anish Kapoor, sculptor; Farshid Moussavi, Professor in Practice of Architecture at Harvard University; and Richard Woolley, Land Rover’s Design Director, selected the six best projects in each category among 76 nominees.

The Overall winner of Design of the Year 2015 will be announced in June.

{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Designs-of-the-Year_01.jpg”, “text”: “Category «Architecture»: University building in Santigo (Chile). Designed by an achitector Alejandro Aravena (Elemental studio).” },
{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Designs-of-the-Year_02.jpg”, “text”: “Category «Digital»: A campaign to rid the sea of plastic waste “Ocean Cleanup”. Designed by Boyan Slat.” },
{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Designs-of-the-Year_03.jpg”, “text”: “Category «Fashion»: Collection AW13/14 by designer Thomas Tait.” },
{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Designs-of-the-Year_04.jpg”, “text”: “Category «Graphics»: Inglorious Fruits & Vegetables campaign. Designed by Advertising agency Marcel.” },
{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Designs-of-the-Year_05.jpg”, “text”: “Category «Product»: Human Organs-on-Chips. A way to research drugs without testing on animals. Designed by: Donald Ingbera and Dan Dongeun Huh” },
{ “img”: “/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Designs-of-the-Year_06.jpg”, “text”: “Category «Transport»: Google self-driving car. Designed by Yoolung Ahn, Jared Gross and Philipp Haban.” }

New and best

1 147


Read more