The Winners of World Press Photo

The most prestigious photojournalism competition had over 5,000 participants this year.

The jury of the 60th international photo contest World Press Photo announced the winners of 2017 after selecting the best works from over 80,000 images by photographers from 125 countries.

The winner of the Photo of the Year is Turkish photographer Burhan Ozbilici with a photograph taken at the exhibition in Ankara where the Russian Ambassador Andrei Karlov was assassinated.

Other winning images include the photograph of the female protester for the rights of the Black population by Jonathan Bachman (Contemporary Issues), the work of Paula Bronstein who captured an Afghani woman who is holding a wounded child in her lap (Daily Life), and Daniel Berehulak, who shot a report on the war on drugs of the authorities in the Philippines, which took the first prize in the General News (Stories) category.

This year’s jury includes Stuart Franklin, a British photographer and Magnum Photos member, Mary Calvert, an American photographer, Wim van Sinderen, senior curator of the Hague Museum of Photography, and Kelli Reed Grant, photography director at Yahoo News, and others.

The winner of the previous year’s WPP was Australian photographer Warren Richardson. He won Photograph of the Year with his image, Hope for a New Life, which captured refugees at the border between Hungary and Serbia in late August 2015.

New and best




Read more