Three Ukrainian journalists awarded Pulitzer Prize

In the US, the winners of the 2023 Pulitzer Prize were announced. Among them are three Ukrainian journalists who are employees of the Associated Press agency: photographer Yevhen Maloletka, videographer Mstyslav Chernov, and producer Vasylisa Stepanenko.

Maloletka, Chernov, and Stepanenko were the only representatives of Western media working in the besieged city of Mariupol at the beginning of the invasion by the Russian army. The three of them, as well as AP’s European correspondent, Lori Hinnant, were recognized in the “Public Service” category.

Read also: “I Still Can’t Believe I Was There”. Yevhen Maloletka Talks About Mariupol and His Photos That Shocked the World

The AP photo team also won a Pulitzer Prize in the “Breaking News Photography” category – for their reports from Ukraine. The award was shared by Yevhen Maloletka, Emilio Morenatti, Felipe Dana, Rodrigo Abd, Vadim Ghirda, Bernat Armangue, and Nariman El-Mofty.

The victory in the “International Reporting” category went to The New York Times journalists for their coverage of the war in Ukraine, including the investigation into the killing of residents of Bucha by Russian military. Ukrainian photojournalist Stas Kozlyuk was part of the team.

In April, a photograph by Yevhen Maloletka was named World Press Photo of the Year. The image was taken in the courtyard of a maternity hospital in Mariupol that was hit by a Russian bomb. Ukrainian journalists previously received a number of awards for their work in the besieged city, including the “Reporters Without Borders” award.

The Pulitzer Prize has been awarded since 1917 and is considered one of the most prestigious awards in journalism. The prize money is $15,000.

New and best

9 588


12 393
Read more