Winners of Magnum Photography Awards

Authors of the best series and the best photographs will receive $3,000 and $1,500 each.

The jury of the Magnum Photography Awards, the annual contest held by Magnum and LensCulture, announced the names of this year’s winners. The 12 photographers whose works became the best in six nominated categories — Street, Photojournalism, Documentary, Portrait, Fine Art, and Open. For each of the categories, the jury selected a winning single image and a winning series.

This year, among the members of the jury were Magnum photographers David Hurn, Alec Soth, Susan Meiselas, creative director for Aperture Foundation Lesley Martin, and LensCulture editor-in-chief Jim Casper.

The best photographs of the contest will be presented at an exhibition in London and published on major websites with a multi-million audience, including the BBC, which will publish feature articles about each of the winners. There are also monetary prizes: authors of the best series and the best photographs will receive $3,000 and $1,500 each.

Photo: Argus Paul Estabrook. Street (Series)
Photo: Lissa Rivera. Portrait (Series)
Photo: Nick Hannes. Documentary (Series)
Photo: Jason Florio. Photojournalism (Series)
Photo: Medina Dugger. Open (Series)
Photo: Artur Zdral. Portrait (Single Image)
Photo: Daniel Shipp. Fine Art (Series)
Photo: Hakim Boulouiz. Street (Single Image)
Photo: Retam Kumar Shaw. Documentary (Single Image)
Photo: Szymo Barylski. Photojournalism (Single Image)
Photo: Ellie Davies. Fine Art (Single Image)
Photo: Britta Jaschinski. Open (Single Image)
Photo: Tanveer Rohan. Juror’s Picks

New and best

9 512


6 962

Read more